home . about azerbaijan . Country Overview . Government



  • Government Type: Republic
  • Capital: Baku
  • Administrative Divisions: 59 regions, 11 cities, and 1 autonomous republic (Nakhchivan)

Executive Branch

  • Chief of State: President Ilham Aliyev (since October 2003)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Artur Rasizade
  • Elections: President elected by popular vote to a five-year term.

Presidential term limits were abolished in 2009 by national referendum. Prime minister and deputy prime ministers appointed by the President and confirmed by Parliament.

Legislative Branch

Established under the 1995 Constitution, the unicameral Parliament or Milli Mejlis consists of 125 seats. Members of Parliament are elected by popular vote to five-year terms.

Judicial Branch

Azerbaijan’s court system consists of three tiers that include the Courts of First Instance, Courts of Appeals, and a Supreme Court. The appellate system is divided into three main circuits: the Court of Appeals, which handles civil and criminal appeals in Azerbaijan proper; the Supreme Court of the Autonomous Republic of Nakhchivan, which handles civil and criminal appeals in the Nakhchivan exclave; and the Economic Court, which handles appeals from local economic courts.

In addition, the Supreme Court hears all final appeals on lower court decisions. The Constitutional Court has jurisdiction over matters related to the constitutionality of laws, government and National Assembly resolutions, presidential decrees, and international treaties.

historical overview »

Back to top


events view our upcoming events.

network follow us.

   facebook  linkedin  twitter

anglo-asian ata-holding
azpetrol statoil
bny_melon azertrans
chevron_logo conocophillips
  ibar exxonmobil
 solar-turbines boeing-logo-website